On Reading day, Thursday, May 6th, the Mathematics Department held the Layman Prize Competition for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics. The competition was held from 10 am  - noon on Zoom.

Two students, Zachary Hoelscher and Danny Sharp, were recognized as winners of this year's competition.

  • Zachary Hoelscher's project "Semicomplete Arithmetic Sequences, Division of Hypercubes, and the Pell Constant" was advised by Dr. Eyvindur Palsson.
  • Danny Sharp's project "Fourier transforms on the Modern Computer" was advised by Dr. Jeff Borggaard.

Congratulations go to both the students and their advisors!

Four students participated in the competition. Each contributor was given 20 minutes to present their work and answer questions from the panel of judges. 

The students, in presentation order, along with the titles of the projects and their research advisors are:

  • 10:00am - 10:20am    Zachary Hoelscher, “Semicomplete Arithmetic Sequences, Division of Hypercubes, and the Pell Constant" (Palsson)
  • 10:20am - 10:40am    Danny Sharp, “Fourier transforms on the Modern Computer" (Borggaard)
  • 10:40am - 11:00am    Stasio Gauza, “Analysis of COVID-19 with a Bayesian Approach” (M. Chung)
  • 11:00am - 11:20am    Ragavi Murali, “Computational Methods for Large-Scale Inverse Problems in Atmospheric Applications" (J. Chung)

Thanks to all the students and their advisors who participated!

And a special thanks to the faculty, Dr. Nicole Abaid, Dr. Christopher Beattie, and Dr. Yun Yang who served on the Evaluation Committee! 

You can see the complete list of winners posted on the Undergraduate Research page on the Mathematics Department Website.