Dr. Megan Wawro has been honored with a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, for her work on her NSF-funded CAREER grant: "An Interdisciplinary Study of Learning: Student Understanding of Linear Algebra in Physics." This award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on young professionals who are at the outset of their independent research careers and who show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology.

This is the second time a faculty member from the mathematics department has won the award. Dr. Jeff Borggaard was bestowed the honor by President Clinton in 2000.

Related Article from VTNews:
Researchers earn Presidential Early Career Awards (August 2019)