The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors honored Dr. Serkan Gugercin with the Class of 1950 Professorship. A member of the Virginia Tech community since 2003, Dr. Gugercin has been the A.V. Morris Professor since 2016  and is a core faculty member in the Division of Computational Modeling and Data Analytics. He coordinates the undergraduate research program for Mathematics at Virginia Tech.

 Professor Gugercin's own reasearch is in computational mathematics, numerical analysis, and systems and control theory, with a focus on data-driven modeling and model reduction of large-scale dynamical systems with applications to inverse problems, structural dynamics, material design, and flow control. He received his bachelor’s degree from Middle East Technical University (Turkey) and a master’s degree and Ph.D. from Rice University.

The Virginia Tech Class of 1950 Professorship was established in 2000 on the occasion of class' 50th reunion. The professorship recognizes excellence in scholarly endeavors. The term of the professorship is five years.

Dr. Michael Renardy  and Dr. Yuriko Renardy were the most recent recipients of The Class of 1950 Professorship. Both are now retired.

Related article from VTNews:

Two College of Science faculty receive honors from Board of Visitors to support research (October 2019)

Department of Mathematics' Serkan Gugercin named A.V. Morris Professor (September 2016)